## It's time to prepare your nomination for the annual Tim Knopp award

Tim Knopp's pioneering efforts made us the club we are today. If there was one key figure in the formation and growth of the North Stars, it was Tim Knopp. What we are today is a reflection of the work he did during our first 20 years as a club. To fully appreciate Tim's impact we have to recall that back then there were no public facilities for skiers in the U.S. outside of New England. As a U of M forestry professor, specializing in public recreational trails, Tim used his local, national, and international contacts to proactively organize and lobby for trail projects for all seasons. By the time he died in 1989, Tim was moving beyond the loop and trail systems and lobbying for point-to-point trails, and for multi-day trips modeled on the hut-to-hut trekking systems in Scandinavia and the American mountain west.

Tim was the first chairman of the VJC ski race sponsored the the NSSTC. The VJC ran through the towns of Victoria, Jonathan, and Chaska, which gave it its name. It was a big event and the Birkebeiner and the Minnesota Vasaloppet were built on the foundation laid by Tim and a then little ski club of 180 members.

Tim served as club President from 1971 to 1972 and as trail coordinator for many years. During those years, he persuaded the Hennepin County Park Reserve to develop ski trails rather than snowmobile trails, trails we enjoy today in such parks as Baker, Murphy Hanrahan, and Elm Creek. He then compiled a book listing all the cross country ski trails. Tim also created and named the Loype, which means "track" in Norwegian, and he created our club icon, the graphic of five skiers in a row.

Our founders believed in sharing their knowledge about skiing with anyone who was interested, regardless of skills. The groundwork for the club we have today was laid by Tim's steady, continuous effort from 1970 to 1989, and by the many leaders who followed him.

As a way to continue honoring Tim's legacy and to provide ongoing recognition of our presentday leaders the club created the annual Tim Knopp award in 2003.

## Previous winners of this prestigious award are:

	8
2003 Inez Wick	2004 Norm Oakvik
2005 Al Mayer	2006 Pete Hawkins
2007 Greg Fangel	2008 Connie Donnelly
2009 Bob O'Hara	2010 Thor and Audry Nordwall
2011 Tom Rice	2012 John Holmquist
2013 Bruce Jacobson	2014 Fran Howley
2015 Kathy Kelly	
& John Driscoll	2016 Dana & David Siskind
2017 Mel Peterson	

## Please send us your 2020 nomination by February 1.

When considering a nominee's qualifications, consider someone you think has made a significant contribution to the club and/or to cross-country skiing. Achievements might include: leading trips, serving as a club officer or working on activities in support of and promoting the club or cross-country skiing. All past letters of nomination have been saved and will be considered along with any new nominations.

## To submit your nominee's name, send a letter describing the person's achievements by February 1 to:

E-mail: <u>bakerla053@gmail.com</u> Or by mail: Laura Baker 2265 W. Luther Place St. Paul, MN 55108